Adapting to a new Doctor

As I reached the end of season 1 of the new production of Doctor Who, I was a bit upset.  Here I was, 13 episodes in to a show that I was quickly falling in love with, and now I need to adjust to a new Doctor.  I know what you’re probably thinking… there have already been nine regenerations of the Doctor, so get used to it already.  But I started my Doctor Who journey with Chris Eccleston, so to me, he IS the Doctor.  (note: I fully intend to backtrack when I complete the current 6 seasons)

It also didn’t help where at the end of the episode they showed the regeneration to David Tennant.  It’s silly, but I had an issue with the physical differences.  As they say, “don’t judge a book by it’s cover.”  I should have taken this advice.  Instead I spent the first episode with David Tennant dwelling on the fact that he simply looked different.  When instead I should have been realizing how great he is as the Doctor.

Now, only 3 episodes into David Tennant as the Doctor and I can’t imagine anyone else.  He’s perfect.  I find myself diving deeper into each plot line, appreciating a more emotional approach.  I realize that this may not have happened if he hadn’t taken over.  Of course, I know I’m just setting myself up for another roller coaster of possible disappointment followed by hopeful acceptance when the time comes for Tennant to take a bow and make way for Doctor number 11.  In the meantime, I shall savor each Tennant episode.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

