Introducing The Doctor

Growing up, I had no idea who Doctor Who was, nor did I understand just how long Doctor Who had been an important part of the Sci Fi genre.  In fact, just the other day the topic of Doctor Who came up in conversation with my mother and she had no idea what I was talking about.  So much of what you are exposed to as a kid depends on your own parents’ interest.  Which is why I grew up knowing lyrics to Phil Collins songs instead of the time traveling adventures of the Doctor.

Eventually, my knowledge of the Doctor went from completely nonexistent to at least knowing that it exists and that it’s a thing.  And my knowledge remained that vague for quite some time.  One day, I found myself browsing through the Netflix watch instant choices for TV and stumbled upon it.  I added it to my queue as a “one day I’ll get to it” option.  Finally, after a period of time in which I really started to grasp my love for Sci Fi and fantasy genres, I introduced the Doctor into my life.  The rest is history.

My best friend informed me that the first season might feel a little slow, or a little silly, or however he tried to explain it to me.  And that if I held on until season 2 it would really start to sink in.  However, I didn’t need to “hang in there” for the first season.  I was right on board after episode 1.  Sure, it is a little silly at first, and the production quality is much lower at the beginning, but I didn’t need high quality production or complex relationships to hold my attention.  The premise of Doctor Who, alone, is what pulled me in.

Here I am, a few episodes into season 2 and I finally see what people were talking about.  The tone of the show changes as is to be expected with a new Doctor.  But also the production quality rose as the show gained momentum.  It’s a little darker now, and David Tennant isn’t quite as goofy as season one’s Chris Eccleston.  All of which is increasingly hooking me into the series.

For all the veteran Doctor Who devotees out there, don’t worry, I am well aware that while this series is labeled as season 1 and 2 etc… it’s actually starting with season 27.  I am not forgetting that the original existed and I fully intend to view every single Doctor Who installment and promise to document it all as I go.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

